Dennis Sutton, COQA Executive Director to Retire, effective July 1, 2021

Dennis Sutton has announced he will step down from the leadership of the Crude Oil Quality Association (COQA), effective July 1, 2021.

Following a 40 plus year career with Marathon Oil & Marathon Petroleum, Dennis took over the Executive Director position at the beginning of 2014.  In the past 7 years, the organization has grown in meeting attendance and international visibility, helping to coordinate the first ever European Crude Quality Forum in 2018.  Under Dennis’ leadership, the COQA spearheaded CME/NYMEX’s adoption of the WTI quality specifications at Cushing, and has worked closely with technical and governmental agencies regarding crude oil vapor pressure issues.  “It has been an honor and privilege to have been a part of the COQA for 20 years, first as an attendee at meetings, then serving as secretary under Harry Giles, and most recently, leading the organization,” Sutton said.

After an extensive search and interview process, the Executive Board is pleased to announce that Ron Claybon will be taking over as the new Executive Director.  Ron brings a wealth of experience and expertise to the position following his thirty-five years of oil and gas experience with Shell Oil Company.   Ron retired from Shell Oil Company in October of 2019 with a well-rounded knowledge of project management, quality assurance system, pipeline transportation and crude oil characteristics.  Ronald formal education includes a Bachelor of Science degree in Economics and a Master of Science degree in Chemistry (focusing on analytical chemistry).  Ron is excited and honored to be a part of the COQA family.